RESOLUTION

Calling for Resignation of Delegate David LaRock

WHEREAS

Since the founding of America, the peaceful transition of power after a Presidential Election has always been a hallmark of our democracy and a shining example for other countries to follow; and

WHEREAS

On November 03, 2020, Joseph R. Biden prevailed in the Presidential election earning 306 Electoral College votes and on December 14, 2020, the U.S. Electoral College declared Biden winner of the Presidential election, therefore designating him U.S. President-elect, and set the date of January 06, 2021 for the U.S. Congress to convene and certify the election result and Biden's win; and

WHEREAS

False allegations of who prevailed in the 2020 Presidential election were promulgated and repeated by elected officials at the federal, state and local level, various "stop the steal" events attracted protesters and hate groups who made themselves known publicly through social media and broadcast their intentions to converge on the U.S. Capitol to disrupt the certification, commit violence against legislators and attempt to overturn the results of a free and fair election. These seditious actions led to injury, destruction of property, and the death of five people, including a U.S. Capitol police officer; and

WHEREAS

Virginia State Delegate David LaRock (R-33) attended a "Stop the Steal" rally on November 15, 2020 and repeated false information that the 2020 election was "rigged," and fraudulent votes were cast. Delegate LaRock also attended the "Stop the Steal" rally on January 6, 2021 in Washington D.C., where that same false narrative was repeated, and which culminated in an attempted insurrection at the United States Capitol, putting in danger the lives of 535 members of Congress and the Vice-President of the United States; and

WHEREAS

Del. LaRock continues to promulgate disinformation about a certified free and fair election; misleads the public by making false assertions of who stormed the U.S Capitol and has not lived up to his oath of office to protect and defend the United States of America and the Commonwealth of Virginia against all enemies foreign and domestic and has demonstrated that he is unfit to represent Loudoun County with honesty and integrity and should resign from office forthwith.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors does condemn the actions of Delegate David LaRock and demand he resign from his seat representing the 33rd District of Virginia, which includes Loudoun County, immediately.



LOUDOUN COUNTY, VIRGINIA

RESOLUTION

Phyllis J. Randall, Chair At-Large	
Koran T. Saines, Vice Chairman, Sterling District	Caleb A. Kershner, Catoctin District
Juli E. Briskman, Algonkian District	Matthew F. Letourneau, Dulles District
Sylvia R. Glass, Broad Run District	Kristen C. Umstattd, Leesburg District
Tony R Buffington Blue Ridge District	Michael R Turner Ashburn District

Loudoun County Board of Supervisors January 19, 2021

