Loudoun County, Virginia



www.loudoun.gov

Office of the County Administrator, Public Affairs and Communications 1 Harrison Street SE, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 • Fax 703-771-5841

For Immediate Release January 19, 2023

Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer 703-771-5086, <u>Glen.Barbour@loudoun.gov</u>

Loudoun Electoral Board Determines School Board Members' Staggered Terms

At its January 12, 2023, meeting, the Loudoun County Electoral Board determined which Loudoun County School Board members will be elected to four-year terms and to two-year terms in the November 2023 general election.

The School Board members who will serve four-year terms are members who will be elected from the:

- Ashburn District
- At-Large (Countywide) District
- Catoctin District
- Little River District

In 2021, the <u>Code of Virginia</u> was amended by the General Assembly to allow the Loudoun County School Board to adopt staggered terms starting with the November 2023 general election, with the terms beginning January 1, 2024. The code, which was further amended in 2022, also called for the Loudoun County Electoral Board to conduct a random drawing at the board's first meeting of 2023 but no later than January 31, 2023, to determine which of the four members of the School Board elected in 2023 will serve four-year terms. The remaining five seats will serve twoyear terms.

The November 2023 election in Loudoun will be conducted using the <u>2022 election districts</u> <u>map</u>. Loudoun County election districts were updated in 2022 through the local redistricting process based on the 2020 U.S. census.

###