

## Loudoun County, Virginia

## www.loudoun.gov

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Office of the County Administrator, Public Affairs and Communications 1 Harrison Street SE, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 • Fax 703-771-5841

For Immediate Release July 7, 2023

Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer 703-771-5086, Glen.Barbour@loudoun.gov

## Joint Architectural Review Board Seeks Nominations for Community Blue Ribbon Award

The Loudoun County Joint Architectural Review Board is seeking nominations for its Community Blue Ribbon Award, which recognizes historic preservation and restoration projects in the county.

The project must be physically located in Loudoun County (which includes the incorporated towns of Hamilton, Hillsboro, Leesburg, Lovettsville, Middleburg, Purcellville and Round Hill) and construction must be completed by the time the nomination is submitted for consideration. The project does not have to be located in a county or town historic district.

Nominated projects should illustrate the preservation of a historic resource, landscape or significant cultural resource. An eligible project might consist of a harmonious addition to a historic building, a restoration or rehabilitation project, an adaptive reuse of a historic building, the preservation of a significant archeological site, or some other project which otherwise protects or enhances one of Loudoun County's historic or cultural resources.

Past winners are not eligible for a second award but projects that were nominated and did not win may be nominated again. Past winners of the Community Blue Ribbon award include the Aldie Mill, the restoration of the Lucketts Community Center and restoration projects at several private residences.

Nominations may be submitted online at <u>loudoun.gov/CommunityBlueRibbonAward</u>. The deadline to submit a nomination is July 28, 2023. Winners will be notified prior to the awards ceremony scheduled for September 2023.

Winners will be selected by members of the Joint Architectural Review Board, which includes representatives of the <u>Loudoun County Historic District Review Committee</u> and representatives of the architectural review boards in Leesburg, Middleburg and Purcellville.