

Loudoun County, Virginia

www.loudoun.gov

NEWS RELEASE

Office of the County Administrator, Public Affairs and Communications 1 Harrison Street SE, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 • Fax 703-771-5841

For Immediate Release September 25, 2023 Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer

703-771-5086, Glen.Barbour@loudoun.gov

Nominations Sought for Route 28 Landowners Advisory Board

Nominations for the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District Landowners Advisory Board are being sought. Members of the board are landowners within the Route 28 tax district from Loudoun and Fairfax Counties.

In accordance with the Code of Virginia, residents eligible to serve on this advisory board must meet the following criteria:

- Must own land zoned for commercial or industrial use within the district; or
- In the case of a corporation owning such land, be a designated officer or employee; or
- In the case of a partnership owning such land, be a designated partner.

The timeline for the election process begins in late September 2023 with nomination letters being sent to eligible property owners. Nominations are due to Route 28 Landowners Advisory Board Chair Tadeusz (Ted) Lewis, by October 16, 2023. Ballots will be mailed to property owners on November 6, 2023, and election results are scheduled to be posted on the Loudoun County website January 16, 2024.

About the Route 28 Tax District

In 1987, the Boards of Supervisors of Loudoun and Fairfax Counties created the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District to fund improvements to Route 28, including the widening of the roadway and construction of ten grade-separated interchanges.

The district is governed by a commission which is comprised of four members from the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, four members from the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, and the Virginia Secretary of Transportation. The district is advised by a Landowners Advisory Board comprised of 12 taxpayer representatives. Six of the advisory board members (three from each county) are elected by the taxpaying landowners to serve four-year terms.

More information about the Route 28 Landowners Advisory Board in Loudoun County is available at <u>loudoun.gov/route28advisoryboard</u>.