

Office of the County Administrator | Public Affairs & Communications

1 Harrison Street SE PO Box 7000 Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 O | publicaffairs@loudoun.gov

loudoun.gov/publicaffairs

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release January 3, 2024

Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer 703-771-5086, Glen.Barbour@loudoun.gov

Board of Supervisors Sets 2024 Meeting Schedule; Elects Briskman Vice Chair

The Loudoun County Board of Supervisors has set its meeting schedule for 2024 and has elected Algonkian District Supervisor Juli E. Briskman as vice chair. In the absence of Chair Phyllis J. Randall, Briskman will perform the duties of the chair.

The Board also appointed members to its three <u>standing committees</u>, naming Dulles District Supervisor Matt Letourneau as chair of the Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee, Ashburn District Supervisor Mike Turner as chair of the Transportation and Land Use Committee and Broad Run District Supervisor Sylvia Glass as co-chair of the Joint Board and School Board Committee.

In addition, the Board made appointments to other regional and county boards, as well as adopted relatively minor revisions to its rules of order and code of ethics. The details are available in the meeting's staff report, which is posted in the <u>January 2 agenda packet</u>.

2024 Meeting Schedule

The Board rescheduled its first Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee meeting that was previously advertised on Tuesday, January 9, 2024, to Thursday, January 11, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. This meeting date change will enable members of the Board to participate in the State Corporation Commission's public hearing regarding toll increases on the Greenway that will be held on January 9 at 6:00 p.m. at Freedom High School in South Riding.

Under the rules of order adopted January 2, 2024, the Board's monthly schedule of business meetings and public hearings, including the public input schedule, will remain the same as last year. The Board adopted a standard meeting schedule that generally results in its business meetings occurring on the first and third Tuesday of the month at 4:00 p.m., and its monthly public hearing is scheduled on the Wednesday of the week following the first business meeting of the month at 6:00 p.m.

The Board of Supervisors complete public meeting calendar is posted on the county's website at loudoun.gov/calendar.

The Board's procedures for providing public input are posted online at loudoun.gov/SignUpToSpeak.

2024 Holiday Adjustments

The Board made adjustments to the meeting schedule due to holidays:

- The June Transportation and Land Use Committee meeting is scheduled for Thursday, June 20, 2024, due to the Juneteenth holiday.
- The first business meeting in November is scheduled for Thursday, November 7, 2024, due to the Election Day holiday.

Planning Commission

The Board also appointed members to the Planning Commission during the January 2, 2024, business meeting for the 2024 - 2027 term:

At-Large: Dale Polen Myers
Algonkian District: James Banks
Ashburn District: Eric Combs

• Broad Run District: Michelle Frank

• Catoctin District: Mark Miller

• Dulles District: Madhava Madireddy

• Leesburg District: Ad Barnes

• Little River District: Robin-Eve Jasper

Sterling District: Clifford Keirce

The new Planning Commission's first meeting is scheduled for January 11, 2024. More information about the Planning Commission is posted online at loudour.gov/pc.

Viewing Meetings

In addition to attending meetings in person in the Board Room of the Loudoun County Government Center, 1 Harrison St. SE in Leesburg, members of the public may view Board of Supervisors meetings on television on Comcast Government Channel 23 and Verizon FiOS Channel 40, and at loudoun.gov/meetings.

For More Information

More information about the Board of Supervisors is available at loudoun.gov/bos.

###