

Loudoun County, Virginia

www.loudoun.gov

NEWS RELEASE

Office of the County Administrator, Public Affairs and Communications 1 Harrison Street, SE, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 • Fax 703-771-5841

For Immediate Release January 3, 2019

Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer 703-771-5086, glen.barbour@loudoun.gov

Board of Supervisors Sets 2019 Meeting Schedule; Re-Elects Buona Vice

Chairman

The Loudoun County Board of Supervisors has set its meeting schedule for 2019 and has reelected Ashburn District Supervisor Ralph Buona as Vice Chairman. In the absence of Chair Phyllis Randall, Buona will perform the duties of the Chair.

Under the rules of order adopted Wednesday during the Board's first meeting of 2019, the Board's monthly schedule of business meetings and public hearings will remain unchanged from 2018:

- Business Meeting: held on the first Tuesday of the month at 5:00 p.m.
- Public Hearing: held on the Wednesday of the week following the first business meeting of the month at 6:00 p.m.
- Business Meeting: held on the Thursday during the week following the monthly public hearing at 5:00 p.m.

Public input at the Board's business meetings will continue to begin as early as 6:30 p.m. and be limited to a one-hour time period. At the second business meeting of the month, an additional time of public input limited to eight speakers will be included at the beginning of the agenda.

The Board also made appointments to regional and county boards and appointed members to the Board's standing committees: the Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee, the Joint Board and School Board Committee, and the Transportation and Land Use Committee.

In addition, the Board made adjustments to its meeting schedule due to religious holidays and Election Day:

- Moved the October 1, 2019, (Rosh Hashanah) business meeting to October 2, 2019
- Moved the October 9, 2019, (Yom Kippur) public hearing to October 10, 2019
- Moved the November 5, 2019, (Election Day) business meeting to November 7

The Board's full schedule of meetings will be posted at www.loudoun.gov/mastercalendar. Meeting documents are posted at www.loudoun.gov/bosdocuments.

Board of Supervisors meetings are held in the Board Room of the Loudoun County Government Center, 1 Harrison Street, S.E. in Leesburg. The meetings are available for viewing on television on Comcast Government Channel 23, Open Band Channel 40, and Verizon FiOS Channel 40, and online at www.loudoun.gov/webcast.

More information about the Board of Supervisors is available on the Loudoun County Government website at www.loudoun.gov/bos.



Pictured above: Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, 2016-2019: Seated, from left: Suzanne M. Volpe (Algonkian District); Ralph M. Buona, Vice Chairman, (Ashburn District); Phyllis J. Randall, Chair; Kristen C. Umstattd (Leesburg); Standing, from left: Matthew F. Letourneau (Dulles District); Geary M. Higgins (Catoctin District); Koran T. Saines (Sterling District); Ron A. Meyer Jr. (Broad Run District); Tony R. Buffington Jr. (Blue Ridge District)