# COUNTY THE

# Loudoun County, Virginia

#### www.loudoun.gov

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Office of the County Administrator, Public Affairs and Communications 1 Harrison Street, SE, P.O. Box 7000, Leesburg, VA 20177-7000 703-777-0113 • Fax 703-771-5841

For Immediate Release January 4, 2019

Media Contact: Glen Barbour, Public Affairs and Communications Officer 703-771-5086, Glen.Barbour@loudoun.gov

## Letourneau Elected Chairman of Northern Virginia Transportation Commission

Loudoun County Dulles District Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau has been elected Chairman of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission for 2019, becoming the first person from Loudoun County to chair the NVTC. In another first for Loudoun, Letourneau has also been elected as an alternate of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Board of Directors.

"It is truly an honor to become the first supervisor from Loudoun County to chair NVTC," Letourneau said. "As the Board prepares for Metro's Silver Line to come to Loudoun, it is vitally important that we are fully engaged in WMATA issues. These new positions will give me an opportunity to



represent Loudoun's interests as well as those of transit riders throughout the region. Transportation remains the number one issue of concern for our residents, and it is in everyone's interest to have a functioning, reliable, cost-effective regional transit system. While we've made progress, there's still a lot of work to do and I look forward to tackling these challenges."

NVTC's mission is to bring the Northern Virginia region together to plan, coordinate and secure funding for transit systems that are financially sustainable and high performing. NVTC works to improve mobility and safety, reduce traffic congestion, protect the environment and stimulate the regional economy by increasing the use of transit and ridesharing. Letourneau joined NVTC in 2016 and served as NVTC vice chairman in 2018.

The Metro Board of Directors determines agency policy and provides oversight for the funding, operation, and expansion of transit facilities within the Washington Metropolitan Area's defined "Transit Zone." The Metro Board of Directors is composed of eight voting and eight alternate directors. Maryland, the District of Columbia, Virginia, and the federal government appoint two voting and two alternate directors each.

Letourneau was elected to represent the Dulles District on the Board of Supervisors in November 2011 and re-elected in 2015. He serves as chair of the Board's Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee. In 2018 he served as Chairman of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments Board of Directors, becoming the first person from Loudoun County to chair the COG board since 1983. Letourneau also represents Loudoun County on the Route 28 Transportation Improvement District Commission and the Dulles Area Transportation Association.

More information about the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors is online at <a href="https://www.loudoun.gov/bos">www.loudoun.gov/bos</a>.