News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 1/2/2020 4:36:00 PM to 12/31/2020 11:40:06 AM.

News & Announcements

Commissioner of Revenue

Posted on: January 2, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Vehicle Owners Notified of Personal Property Filing Requirements, Asked to Verify Information Online

Image of Loudoun County Wordmark

Loudoun Commissioner of the Revenue Robert S. Wertz Jr. recently mailed notification of 2020 personal property filing requirements to all vehicle owners currently on the county’s tax rolls. Personal property includes automobiles, trucks, motorcycles, campers, trailers, boats, motorhomes, aircraft, and mobile homes. This week, residents will begin receiving notices in the mail with an account number and instructions that they will use to review and update their personal property tax records for the 2020 tax year. The online process allows citizens to review and update information on the more than 369,000 vehicles now located in the county. Beginning January 1, 2020, citizens can access their personal property information online at, utilizing their tax identification number, mailing address ZIP code and unique account number which is displayed on the notice. 

Residents should report corrections, an address change, the sale or disposal of a vehicle, or unusually high mileage as well as unrepaired body damage or serious mechanical defect since these factors may affect the property’s valuation or the number of months a vehicle is taxed in the county. The Commissioner requests that all changes be submitted by February 3, 2020, to assist in establishing accurate assessments for the 2020 tax year.  

To avoid late filing penalties, newly acquired vehicles or those recently entering Loudoun County must be reported to the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of purchase or move to Loudoun County or one of Loudoun County’s incorporated towns.

Under a new Loudoun County ordinance, as of January 1, 2020, owners of vehicles displaying out-of-state license plates who are not otherwise exempt from obtaining Virginia license plates will be charged an additional annual license fee of $100. A $250 penalty may also be imposed on owners of vehicles that are not registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 60 days of the owner having established residency in Virginia. Questions or concerns about unregistered or non-compliant vehicles maybe directed to the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue.

For more information or filing assistance, visit, email the Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue or call 703-777-0260.  Residents may also stop by the Leesburg office in the Loudoun County Government Center at 1 Harrison Street SE or the Sterling office at 21641 Ridgetop Circle. Regular office hours are weekdays from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email