News & Announcements Home
The original item was published from 3/6/2020 1:31:44 PM to 1/1/2021 12:00:03 AM.

News & Announcements

County News

Posted on: March 6, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Supervisor Letourneau Elected WMATA Board Principal Director

Photo of Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau

Loudoun County Dulles District Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau has been appointed to serve as a principal director of the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) by the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission (NVTC). He is the first member of the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors to serve on the WMATA Board of Directors. Letourneau, who serves as the NVTC’s immediate past chairman, joined the WMATA Board of Directors as an alternate member in 2019.

Following the vote by NVTC to appoint Letourneau Thursday night, NVTC Chair Katie Cristol called him “a true regional thinker, who understands how critical a sustainable, effective WMATA is to each of our Northern Virginia jurisdictions. We appreciate his leadership and commitment to consensus as he assumes this critical role representing all of us.”

“There is nothing more vital to the region than the Washington Metro system, and I am honored to serve as the voice of Virginia’s jurisdictions on the Metro Board of Directors,” said Letourneau. “My first experience riding Metrorail was as a 12-year-old tourist, and I became a regular user of the system when I was a college student in D.C. I have watched the system deal with many challenges since that time, and I appreciate the opportunity to be able to work on ways to improve it, especially as we prepare for Phase II of the Silver Line here in Loudoun next year.”

The WMATA Board of Directors determines agency policy and provides oversight for the funding, operation, and expansion of transit facilities within the Washington Metropolitan Area’s defined “Transit Zone.” The board is composed of eight voting and eight alternate directors. Maryland, the District of Columbia, Virginia and the federal government appoint two voting and two alternate directors each. 

Letourneau was elected to represent the Dulles District on the Board of Supervisors in November 2011 and re-elected in 2015 and 2019. He serves as chair of the Board’s Finance/Government Operations and Economic Development Committee. In 2018 he served as chairman of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments Board of Directors, becoming the first person from Loudoun County to chair the COG board since 1983. He was the first Loudoun County Supervisor to serve as an officer of the NVTC and served as Chairman in 2019. He also represents Loudoun County on the Route 28 Transportation Improvement District Commission and the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board. 

More information about the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors is online at   

# # #

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in County News

Link to information about Conservation Easements in Loudoun County

Eligibility Broadened for Conservation Easement Assistance Program

Posted on: April 18, 2024 | Last Modified on: April 18, 2024
Link to information about the Loudoun County landfill

Loudoun County Landfill Closing Early Friday, April 19, 2024

Posted on: April 18, 2024 | Last Modified on: April 18, 2024