School Resource Officers

The Loudoun County Sheriff's Office School Resource Officer program was named one of the best School Resource Officers Units in the United States after receiving the ASRO Model Agency of the Year Award in 2018. The award recognized the LCSO for exemplifying the NASRO Triad Concept, training, policies, and standards in our practices to ensure professional service and security to the school community.

The LCSO SRO Program has also been at the forefront of training being the first in the Commonwealth to hold advanced Crisis Intervention Training, and our SROs were also the first in the Northern Virginia region to receive training in Sources of Strength - an evidence-led youth suicide prevention program, conducted by The Ryan Bartel Foundation.


In 1996, the LCSO began its School Resource Officer (SRO) program on the heels of extraordinary growth in the county. This growth in population in the county brought with it new schools and a need for the expansion of the SRO program. The job duties and responsibilities of an LCSO SRO include: administering various student programs and school crime solvers, attending school and community meetings, conducting security assessments, conducting staff training, D.A.R.E. for Middle School, handling all criminal investigations originating in the schools, monitoring gang, and other dangerous activity, serving as the law enforcement liaison with the school system, teaching date-rape awareness and prevention and other requested classes and various other assigned duties.



Help keep our schools safe; download the Safe2Talk App. The free downloadable app allows students, parents, teachers, and residents the ability to anonymously report safety concerns in our schools, including suspicious or threatening social media activity.  To report any suspicious incidents, please click on the link.

Know Your SRO

  • Academies of Loudoun

    Master Dep. Steven Hajdasz

  • Belmont Ridge Middle School
    DFC. Christopher Freck
  • Blue Ridge Middle School  Master Dep. John McClintic
  • Brambleton Middle School  DFC. Michael Harper
  • Briar Woods High School      Master Dep. Michael Cenate
  • Broad Run High School
    DFC. Chris Iversen
  • Dominion High School
    DFC. Andrew Cavo
  • Eagle Ridge Middle School
    DFC. Tavis Henry
  • Farmwell Station Middle School
    DFC. Nicholas Campbell
  • Freedom High School
    DFC. Jason Gadell
  • Harmony Middle School
    DFC. Chris Salter
  • Independence High School
    DFC. Gary Ace
  • J. Michael Lunsford Middle School
    DFC. Nicholas Tyskowski
  • John Champe High School DFC. Andrew Kim 
  • Lightridge High School
    DFC. Joshua Drahos
  • Loudoun Valley High School
    Master Dep. Matthew Vess
  • Mercer Middle School
    DFC. Todd Younkin
  • North Star School                     Master Dep. Mark Jones
  • Park View High School
    DFC. Calvin Whitaker
  • Potomac Falls High School
    DFC. Mitchell Dively
  • River Bend Middle School
    DFC. Devin Mickens
  • Riverside High School
    DFC. Joshua Goddard
  • Rock Ridge High School
    DFC. Mike Baker
  • Seneca Ridge Middle School
    Master Dep.Tim Iverson
  • Sterling Middle School
    DFC. Jovanni Martinez
  • Stone Bridge High School
    DFC. Ramon Rivera
  • Stone Hill Middle School DFC. Dylan Nick
  • Trailside Middle School
    Master Dep. Robert Thomasson
  • Willard Intermediate School DFC. Sodiq Apena
  • Woodgrove High School
    DFC. Chris Horbatak


  • Lieutenant Michael Safford
    School Resource Officer Unit Supervisor / 571-223-0015
  • Sergeant Megan Wealand
    (Lansdowne, North Star, Academies of Loudoun & Sterling Schools) / 571-209-7730
  • Sergeant Samantha Harwood
    (South Brambleton, Loudoun Valley, & South Riding Schools) / 571-420-0087
  • Sergeant Justin Maas
    (Ashburn, North Brambleton, & Western Loudoun Schools) / 571-246-5066 

SRO Investigator

Detective Shannon Shelow          / 571-233-2891