News & Announcements

Sheriff's Office

Posted on: February 9, 2019

9th Annual Awards Ceremony Recognizes Day-to-Day Efforts of LCSO Personnel


The Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office held their 2018 Awards and Recognition Ceremony Friday, February 8, 2019, to recognize the day-to-day efforts of members of the agency for their service and dedication to the community.

This year’s awards also recognized representatives from the Loudoun Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Office, Loudoun County Public Schools, and several civilians.

The awards and recognition program allows members of the agency to nominate their co-workers, partners in law enforcement, and citizens for efforts that often go unrecognized. The nominations are then reviewed by an awards committee. The awarded categories for this year included the Meritorious Service Award, the Meritorious Action Award, the Sheriff’s Excellence Award, the Commendation Award, the Distinguished Training Officer Award, and the Master Deputy Program Achievement Award.

Meritorious Service Award: Recognizes performance by a member within the scope of normal responsibilities, but performed in such a manner as to deserve special recognition.

Recipients: Detective Meagan Wealand, Detective Nick Campbell, and Senior Deputy Doug Lake.

Meritorious Action Award: Recognizes an individual, or team of individuals, who have demonstrated exemplary action in response to a specific situation of an emergency nature, or as part of a routine event, where the member’s exceptional performance merits special recognition.

Recipients: Deputy First Class Anne Ottosen, Deputy First Class Randal Brown, Master Deputy Nick Altom, Deputy First Class Chris Iversen, Deputy First Class Jennifer Carpenter, Deputy First Class Gerald Presson, and Deputy Brady Mullis.

Sheriff’s Excellence Award: Recognizes senior, civilian, supervisors and senior, front line, sworn supervisors for superior job knowledge, devotion to duty, and dedication to the community and the agency.

Recipients: Sgt. David Fincham.

Master Deputy Program Achievement Award: Recognizes deputies with the Master Deputy Program for superior job knowledge, devotion to duty specifically related to career path, dedication to those they serve, and loyalty to the Sheriff’s Office.

Recipients: Master Deputy Dan Martynowicz and Master Deputy Sean Allen.

Distinguished Training Officer Award: Recognizes Training Officers who consistently demonstrate distinguished performance in the area of training within their respective division.

Recipients: Deputy First Class Lew McClenahan and Deputy First Class Patrick Hannan.

Commendation Award: Awarded by the Sheriff to any individual or team of individuals, for an act that materially contributes to the accomplishment of Sheriff’s office goals or for an act that warrants special recognition in the public interest.

Recipients: Lt. Greg Rogers, Detective Sgt. Steve Schochet, Detective Alonzo Perry, Detective Larry Reed, Detective Mike Grimsley, Detective Mark Bush, Detective Shannon Coderre, Detective Claye Pickrell, Detective Sean McCormack, Detective Joe Hacay, Computer Forensic Examiner Kristi Kennard, Master Deputy Sean Allen, Investigator Brian Russell, Investigator Mike Petrakos, Detective Mike Grimsley, Sgt. Mahn Nguyen, Administrative Assistant Susana Shingledecker, Crime Analyst Megan Haff, Assistant Commonwealth Attorney Ryan Perry, Assistant Commonwealth Attorney Jason Faw, Deputy Justin Denton, Deputy First Class Nathan House, Deputy First Class Chris Iversen, Deputy First Class John Paul Jones, Senior Deputy Lindsey Wilson, Deputy First Class Mike Peck, Deputy First Class Sean McCartan. From Loudoun County Public Schools Mr. Ward Singler, Mr. Matt Young, and Mr. Jonathan Hicks. Also receiving this award were Ms. Jennifer Boyd and Ms. Yeni Garcia who are employees within the Loudoun County Adult Detention Center.

Those in attendance included Loudoun County Sheriff Mike Chapman, members of the Loudoun County Sheriff’s Office command staff, Loudoun County Government Board of Supervisor Chair Phyllis Randall, Leesburg Police Department, Leesburg VA Chief Greg Brown, Loudoun County Administrator Tim Hemstreet, Loudoun County Commonwealth's Attorney's Office Chief Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney Nicole Wittman, and representatives from The Official Loudoun County Public Schools.

The Awards and Recognition program was developed in 2010 and is an annual event.



Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Sheriff's Office

Incident website

Update: Suspect is in Custody

Posted on: October 21, 2021
Photos of Carlos Lopez Alvarez

LCSO Seeks Whereabouts of Ashburn Teenager

Posted on: September 8, 2021
Press release website

Sterling Man Charged in January Shooting

Posted on: February 10, 2021

Maryland Man Charged in Online Pet Scam

Posted on: December 29, 2020
Press release website

LCSO Expands Body Worn Camera Program

Posted on: October 27, 2020

Thank You Loudoun County!

Posted on: December 2, 2019